RSS Feed

Redken Thickening Lotion 06 Review

Posted on

How I get volume in my fine hair.

Redken Thickening lotion

Redken Thickening lotion

Trying to grow long hair means avoiding heat as much as possible, so I’m always on the hunt to find new ways and products to make my hair look more voluminous and styled without damaging it. Redken is by far my holy grail of hair products, if you have checked out  my ‘Top Ten’ page, you’ll know Redken’s extreme anti snap is the one product I could never live without. So last week I was browsing the lotions and potions in the salon next to my work and I was instantly drawn to this thickening lotion.  The bottle states –

 

> Builds extra body, texture, volume and shine
> Bodifying proteins help reconstruct and strengthen hair
> Hair looks and feels thicker
> Thicker consistency is easier to apply
> Won’t build-up on the hair

This sounded perfect for me! Although my hair is healthy and in good condition, as it grows I am noticing it getting thinner and I really needed something to give the illusion of more hair without whacking in some terrible clip in extensions. So at £10 I snapped it up, eager to get home to wash my hair and try it out. Here’s what I thought…

06As you can see above there is quite a dramatic difference in the volume and thickness of my hair. Both times I had used my Redken Anti-snap, Organix argan oil and some boots own-brand mousse. However in the right picture, I used the thickening lotion. I blow dried my hair in exactly the same way both times, by blowdrying to the left for 80% of the time and then flipping over to the right at the end for more volume. I noticed a huge amount more root lift, and my hair felt thicker all over, even at the tips! I went and did a night shift straight after this and by the time I got home at 6am my hair was still massive, I was very impressed!

The important thing with this product is to use the exact right amount for your hair type, length and thickness. The first time I used it my roots were a bit crispy because I had gone a little over board. Now I find one pump enough for my whole head and I run it down the length as well as the roots as it gives really lovely texture and hold. It can take a bit of trial and error to get it right, but I think this is an amazing product for faking lots of hair without extensions!

I bought mine on a whim at the salon, but you can buy it a little cheaper at http://www.lookfantastic.com/redken-thickening-lotion-06-body-builder-50ml/10451517.html they also do lots of redken promo’s so you can get it even cheaper if you keep your eyes peeled for one.

Let me know if you have any other recommendations on volumising products! I’ve also just put this blog onto bloglovin as wordpress blogs can be annoying to follow, so if your interested in hair care and hair growth follow my blog here http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/4924441 I’ll also put a button in the sidebar!

Ali x

 

Leave a Reply

