RSS Feed

Overnight heatless waves with Redken Wool shake

Posted on

20130506-200629.jpg

I used to love my GHD’s, I used them religiously and my favourite style to create was beachy waves. However when I converted over to a heat-free life I had to come up with alternatives!
Here’s a really simple way to get your hair from poker straight to soft curls overnight with just some bobby pins and one product.

20130506-200947.jpg

20130506-201011.jpg

20130506-201050.jpg

Step One
Apply mousse to freshly washed hair, any brand is fine I never find a difference between high-end and drugstore when it comes to mousse. Apply a volumizing spray or lotion, I use the redken thickening lotion. Blow dry fully.

Step Two
When completely dry spray lightly with redken wool shake, don’t scrunch yet. This is to give hair texture and hold overnight.

Step Three
Bobby pin your hair into a bun, if you twist the hair and wrap tightly you will get more uniformed curls. I like mine to look just wavy so I do it fairly loosely and messy so it looks natural. If you have a lot of hair you can do 2 buns to get more shape. When hair is secure spray with hairspray to set.

Step Four
In the morning take out your pins and run fingers through hair to remove any knots. For a smooth romantic wave just brush through and leave. But for a more beachy ‘just got out of bed’ look, use a liberal amount of redken wool shake and scrunch your hair like its the 90’s!
This style will last 2-3 days, and you can tie it up again each night if you feel the waves are falling.

Quick Redken Wool Shake Review

This is my latest holy grail hair product, and I feel a great sense of relief knowing I don’t have to waste my time and money trying to find a perfect sea salt spray, or texturising product anymore.
I must admit I was a little daunted by the name ‘Wool Shake’, who wants wool in their hair?? Also the bottle says its a ‘gel slush texturizer’ eww! But I did my research and lots of reviews from people with hair similar to mine persuaded me to give it a go.
I find it gives my normally flat boring hair amazing texture that no salt spray has ever come close to, it also holds that style all day without feeling sticky, hard or heavy. It also brushes out nicely if you have applied a bit too much.
It retails anywhere between £10-15, but like I’ve said in previous posts feelunique.com do regular Redken offers so keep a look out for them. Here’s a link to the official Redken Wool Shake page and the feelunique.com page

Let me know of any other heatless styles you like!
Ali x

20130506-203716.jpg

Leave a Reply

