RSS Feed

Rosemary for Hair Growth & Hair Care

Posted on

How & why I incorporate rosemary into my hair routine.

20130514-165746.jpg

As much as I love Nisim’s FAST shampoo and Lee Stafford’s hair growth range, you don’t always have to splash the cash in the quest for longer locks. Sometimes a little scavenge through your kitchen will unearth hair care gold!!
Rosemary is a really great natural stimulant, it is often used in aromatherapy and herbal teas to invigorate the mind and body. When applied to the scalp, it does an amazing job of stimulating your hair follicles, increasing blood flow and therefore improving hair growth rate, and for people suffering with hair loss, it can help brand new hair growth. It is also proven to darken the hair over time and will keep greys away. If that wasn’t enough it is also great at tackling dandruff and an itchy scalp and will leave you feeling fresh and flake free.
I love you rosemary!

There are tons of ways you can use this is your hair care routine, but here are four of my favourites…

Rosemary leave in conditioner and rosemary & cider vinegar rinse

20130514-171559.jpg

Rosemary leave in conditioner is a natural way to detangle your hair and leave it super glossy whilst stimulating your scalp, and it’s so easy and cheap to make.

20130514-171835.jpg

Take a pack of dried rosemary, I buy mine from Holland & Barrett for about Β£1.20, and put roughly 200g into a saucepan.

20130514-172043.jpg

Fill to the top with cold water and bring to the boil, simmer for about 20 minutes until water is a dark red/brown colour, keep stirring.

20130514-172411.jpg

Let this cool, then use a sieve to pour the water into a jug and get rid of the used rosemary. Once it’s completely cool pour into a water spray bottle (I get mine from poundland) and that’s it!
After you have washed your hair spritz this all over, and comb through.

A rosemary and cider vinegar rinse is a great way to neutralise the ph of your hair as shampoo and conditioner is very alkaline and it can take your a hair a while to rebalance itself out, leaving it vulnerable to damage. The acidity of the vinegar will make your hair extremely shiny and healthy, the smell isn’t great but is masked by the rosemary and olive oil. Here’s how to make it.

20130514-173348.jpg

In a spray bottle, fill 1/3 with apple cider vinegar. Then fill the rest with the rosemary conditioner from the previous method. Add 4-5 drops of olive oil for extra moisture.

To use, shake really well, remember oil and vinegar don’t mix! After conditioning whilst hair is still wet, spray evenly and leave for a minute. Then rinse fully. You should feel the results immediately and your hair will feel like silk!

Rosemary and coconut hair mask

If you have read my blog before, you’ll know I’m a bit obsessed with using coconut oil in my hair. Well this post is no exception! An overnight mask will deliver maximum results, the rosemary to grow your hair and the coconut to repair any damage. Again this is super easy to make.

20130514-174616.jpg

You will need some pure rosemary essential oil, again I get mine from Holland & Barrett for about Β£8 but you can get it cheaper on ebay

20130514-174803.jpg

Then all I do is pour about 6-7 drops into my virgin coconut oil tub, use my hairdryer to melt the coconut and massage the mixture into my scalp and tips. I will then wrap it in a warm towel over night and wash out in the morning. Simple!

Rosemary tea

Beauty starts from within I am always told, so this is a really easy way to boost your hair from the inside out.
That first method of boiling the rosemary to make a conditioner, well that’s also known as rosemary tea and you can drink it! It’s not the nicest flavour tea, but I promise it will work wonders for your hair!

Let me know if you have any other techniques for using rosemary!!
Alice xx

20130514-181031.jpg

8 responses »

  1. Very good post. I am going through many of these issues as well.

    .

    Reply
  2. Great post ! I use acv as well to rinse. Will be trying this rosemary recipe soon πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Rosemary is an underrated herb. I have used it to help with so different home remedies in including eczema and promoting hair growth.

    Similarly, ACV is a cure-all for everything both internally and externally. So I exaggerate a bit, but really, it has almost magical powers to aid or heal so many ailments topically and internally. Every morning I drink ACV diluted with water to help alkalize my body’s pH. Lemon water is great for this as well and another super food (lemons).

    Great post! This is right up my alley!

    Reply
  4. I love rosemary essential oil too! I use daily for haircare and love the way it makes my scalp feel πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. mingmingtheduckling

    Thank you so much for the post I was looking for another DIY leaving conditioner since I have been simply using my regular conditioner mixed in water… This is great I will definitely try it πŸ˜€

    Reply
  6. Hello Ms. AliOlive. Could I use rosemary essential oil for the leave-in conditioner instead of the leaves? And if so,how many drops do I add to it? Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

