RSS Feed

Lush ‘Roots’ Review

Posted on
Lush Roots

”Thine be the glory – Don’t despair, we’ve got a treatment for thin and fine hair.”

 

I must confess that before last weekend I was a bit of a Lush virgin. Except popping in for the odd birthday bath bomb for my mum, I had never gone in with the intention of trying their hair care. I have heard very mixed reviews about their hair products, and so was slightly weary. I actually went in because I had heard good things about their henna bars, as I’m thinking about ‘hennaing’ my hair a more vibrant red, so while I was discussing this with the sales assistant, I noticed ‘roots’ and was instantly intrigued.  If you have read my post on Redkens thickening lotion, then you’ll know I’m quite conscious of my hair getting thinner as it gets longer and am always a sucker for something that promises big voluminous hair.

 

‘Roots’ is a pre-shampoo treatment for fine/thin hair, which claims to revitalize and add body to your locks. It’s also a stimulant as it contains 3 types of mint, which will encourage hair growth, sounds right up my street! The tester pot smelt AMAZING, really fresh with a citrus twist. The sales assistant recommended I dampen my hair, massage the product into my scalp for about 15 minutes, and wash and condition with a gentle shampoo. A clarifying one would strip out all the goodness you’d put in.

 

IMG_0786[1]

 

 

 

So in the bath, I did as instructed and really enjoyed the minty tingling sensation on my scalp. It is kind of hard work to massage your own head for 15 minutes, but it’s great  for hair growth so I persevered. When I washed it out my hair felt lovely and soft. I shampoo’d and conditioned the ends of my hair, used my L’oreal kids detangler and applied no other products, I wanted to determine if this treatment alone could add volume.

After blow drying my hair I was slightly disappointed my hair didn’t really look any thicker. However my roots felt super lightweight, and swishy! So although it didn’t add much volume, my hair had more movement and was bouncy. This product definitely revitalized and detoxed my hair, so this might be a great alternative to using a harsh clarifying shampoo every fortnight. In terms of hair growth, its much to early to tell, I think I’ll get about 8-10 uses out of this pot so I’ll report back when it’s used up.

IMG_0784[1]

Overall I like this product. It’s nice to add another natural & organic product into my routine. If your looking for miracle volume you will be disappointed and would be better off with a post-wash volumising product, but if you experience product build up in your fine hair then this will be great for you.

Here is a link to the Lush product page for more details and ingredients https://www.lush.co.uk/product/6027/Roots-Scalp-Cream

Bye for now!

Ali x

2 responses »

  1. Must Have Boxes

    You have amazing hair! Lush makes great products.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

    Reply
  2. would love to see a review on LUSH’s BIG shampoo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

